## Registered Professional Nurse Licensure by Endorsement/Reciprocity

State of Maine Licensure Requirements

The following information is the general information needed for licensure and does not reflect other information that maybe requested based on review of an application.

## Application and Fee

- 1. Apply on-line at <a href="https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing">www.maine.gov/boardofnursing</a> and select I want to apply for a license and follow the directions.
- 2. Upload a current picture (not a copy of a driver's license, ID, or passport)
- 3. Upload a signed and dated application signature page. Go to the Maine State Board of Nursing website the form is located in the Licensing section. Application Signature Page
- 4. Send in supporting documentation. All "yes" responses to questions in the disciplinary section of the application require a signed explanation (and court documents for any incidents that occurred less than 10 years ago).
  - Maine State Board of Nursing 158 SHS Augusta ME 04333; or
  - Endorsement.PFRNursing@maine.gov
- 5. The non-refundable application fee is \$75.00.

# **Nurse Licensure Compact Information**

- 1. A legal resident of another compact state cannot apply for registered professional nurse license by endorsement in the state of Maine.
- A legal resident of another compact state, moving to Maine would need to provide a Declaration of Primary Residence Form when the applicant relocates to Maine. The form can be found at www.maine.gov/boardofnursing in the licensing section.
- 3. Maine state law authorizes the board to request any or all documents that provide proof of legal residency in Maine, including driver's license, voter registration, car registration, tax forms, and validation of residence.

## Transcript(s)

- 1. Transcripts may be required on a case by case review of applications. They are always required for applicants in a generic to master's (accelerated program) when the applicant meets the basic requirements to sit for the NCLEX-RN examination during the program. A letter from the school documenting when the applicant met the basic requirements for RN licensure is also required. The transcript should be mailed or e-mailed to:
  - Maine State Board of Nursing 158 SHS Augusta ME 04333 or
  - Endorsement.PFRNursing@maine.gov

### **Criminal Background Check**

Maine state law authorizes the State Board of Nursing to require an applicant to complete the fingerprinting process for a criminal background check on initial licensure. Go to <a href="https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing.">www.maine.gov/boardofnursing.</a> Select "I want to obtain a criminal background check" and follow the instructions. The criminal background check results are only valid for 90 days.

#### Verification of License

- Verification of licensure is required either through NURSYS, if your original license was issued in a NURSYS participating state or directly from the Board in the state that does not participate in NURSYS. The NURSYS e-mail address is <a href="www.nursys.com">www.nursys.com</a> (\$30.00 Visa or Master Card)
- 2. Verification of licenses from foreign countries are also required. If an applicant was originally licensed in a foreign country or held a license in another country, the license information needs to be verified.

## **Foreign Applicants**

1. Education/transcripts MUST be verified through CGFNS (CES Report) if education is outside of US or Canada AND applicant is not licensed in another US jurisdiction. We cannot accept verification/review through other entities (e.g., JSILNY). Verification of the education program cannot be received from

- the applicant. CGFNS report is required for applicants with no other US license or who have not completed NCLEX exam.
- 2. If an applicant's education was in a language other than English, he/she must submit a TOEFL report or have CGFNS verify that the TOEFL exam was passed. We cannot accept other English proficiency test results. If the NCLEX exam successfully passed in English, the applicant is not required to take the TOEFL exam
- 3. Effective May 22, 2023, applicants who have been educated at a Foreign (Country other than the United States and Canada) educational facility, and who are seeking licensure in Maine from the Maine Board of Nursing, must report ALL foreign (outside the United States) licenses to be verified/validated through CGFNS and reported in the CES report.

#### **NCLEX-RN Examination**

- 1. The NCLEX-RN is required for all foreign applicants that have not taken this examination in another jurisdiction.
- 2. The NCLEX-RN is required for all Canadians endorsing from Canada to Maine that have not already taken the examination.
- 3. The NCLEX-RN may be required for Canadian applicants endorsing into Maine from other states that have never taken the NCLEX depending on existing Maine laws at the time the Canadian applicant endorsed into the United States.

## United States (US) Social Security Number

1. The applicant must be issued a US Social Security Number before the applicant can be issued a Maine Registered Professional Nursing License.

# **Important Information**

1. Applications are processed in the order they are received. Status of an application may be checked by going to the following link: www.maine.gov/boardofnursing. Select "I want to check the status of an

- application" and follow the instructions.
- 2. A license will be emailed to the current email address on file with the board.
- 3. After verifying an active Maine state license on the board website, enrollment with <a href="Nursys E-Notify">Nursys E-Notify</a> is recommended. Select "As a Nurse" to complete the registration process.
- 4. Maintain current contact information with the Maine State Board of Nursing. To update your information, go to <a href="https://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing">www.maine.gov/boardofnursing</a> and select the appropriate option in the "I want to" box.